Coast Guard seeking possible missing kite surfer

At approximately 4 p.m. today, the Coast Guard received a report of a kite surfing sail in the water off of Trinidad, Calif. The Coast Guard launched air and surface assets to the scene under the assumption that there was a person in the water connected with the kite.

As of 8:30 p.m. the Coast Guard is still searching the waters off of Trinidad.

The kite was manufactured by Slingshot and is orange with blue stripes.

With a wet suit, a person can survive for up to 17 hours at the current water temperature and Coast Guard units will continue to search until at least 9 a.m. tomorrow unless someone is found in the water or until someone can claim that the kite was theirs.

2 Responses

  1. I am the Kitesurfer they were looking for. I was out at clam beach from 10 am till 4pm. While I was kitesurfing I had a equipment failure and my kite flew away from me. IT was about a half a mile off shore when I left it at four o clock after self rescuing my self for a hour to get out of the high surf. I am fine but my kite is gone. I would like to come in contact with the coast guard if possible, however I cannot locate any contact information for them.

  2. Whew! You can call the at Coast Guard at 707-839-6100.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,436 other followers

